NYC CCW Double Standard - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism >

NYC CCW Double Standard

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2012, 11:47 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 61 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 15

That is the same argument that the Brady ban all guns have used to fight gun rights every where in the country. The truth is with proper background checks the states now have less crime. This was the same propaganda that said gun fights would be constant in big cities at stop lights. Some what true car jackings in those cities is no longer healthy. NYC is safer with the bad guys owning guns? People afraid to walk on their own streets? And you want to ban guns to reduce accidents?

Old 01-30-2012, 11:50 PM   #12

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

I was a NY cop in my in a former life. The gun laws are ridiculous. Mandatory 1 yr irrespective of circumstances. Virtually impossible to get a carry permit. On the other hand, they issued one (and have continued to renew it) to Howard Stern.

And people wonder why i moved south.

Sent from my iPad using FirearmsTalk

Old 01-31-2012, 12:24 AM   #13

Liked 1912 Times on 990 Posts
Likes Given: 1456

Quote:
Originally Posted by JTJ View Post
So you believe it is justified to deny citizens their rights under the constitution because you believe they are too ignorant to own a firearm.
(Hmmm. It's hard to separate me; the New Yorker, from me the Adirondacker. Your indulgence please.)

No. I believe they are justified to deny themselves their rights under the constitution because they believe that there are too many of them that are too ignorant to own a firearm. They feel safer with firearm restrictions then without them.

Which, having lived there, I believe may very well be the case in actually as well as perception.