Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Legal and Activism (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/)
-   -   Need Some Legal Advice On Changing State Of Residence (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/need-some-legal-advice-changing-state-residence-82188/)

ryevick 01-23-2013 01:41 AM

Need Some Legal Advice On Changing State Of Residence

I am an OTR truck driver. My state of residence is Ga where I also have a conceal carry permit and have paperwork in process for a suppressor. I stay on the road and live in my truck and have a storage unit that I will keep in Ga but will be changing my state of residence to Montana. Is this going to cause problems for me? Like I said the storage unit will be in Ga and my guns will be in storage or at a friend or relatives and will not be crossing state lines. Montana has no state tax and the company I work for is based out of MT and it will save me money to do this. Thanks.

John_Deer 01-23-2013 01:57 AM

I trained horses for a lot of years. You are probably aware that a racing meet only lasts a few months. Most of the time I had to hire more help each time I moved. You can have a residence in MT and maintain your status as a GA resident for quite a while. In fact, I am not sure you have to move your residence to MT to claim you have moved your business to MT. I had to pay payroll taxes in several states every year. But my business was located in LA. I only had to pay out of state payroll tax on the employees that were a resident of the state where we were racing. I paid LA tax on my full time employees no matter where we raced.

ryevick 01-23-2013 02:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John_Deer (Post 1106206)