Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Legal and Activism (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/)
-   -   Michigan handgun registration (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/michigan-handgun-registration-82636/)

hawaiifrank 01-27-2013 11:56 PM

Michigan handgun registration

Are any of you Michigan visitors who take your handgun along?

I'm a past MI resident (Wayne/Westland) and now live in TX most of the winter. I claim TX as my resident state. I spend every other summer in MI, but this year I now will have 3 handguns and a 10/22 rifle in my RV. I've read the MI website about registering handguns and getting an ownership card or something. I know the law was recently modified.

Can anyone tell me about non-resident, visitor handgun ownership in Michigan? I'd like to target shoot a little on a relative's 40 acres near Gladwin and I want to stay legal. I know I need to register at least the handguns. I think my Ruger 10/22 is OK. I actually bought the 10/22 in MI a couple of years ago on my last visit.

I'm taking the class for my CHL here in TX and I think having it will help when I get to MI.

Should I wait till I get there or can I do some of the paperwork before hand? The available info on the web said I need some kind of ownership transfer card or a permit to buy or something in order to bring a handgun to the state, even though I'm the legal owner already in TX. Then I need to fill out a form at the local LEO to register each handgun. The "inspection" part of the registering process was recently changed (deleted), I belive.

Do I have it mostly right? Maybe someone can enlighten me as to exactly how this works for non-resident visitors. The website was directed mostly to residents and I'm not sure which of the requirements apply to visitors.

c3shooter 01-28-2013 12:11 AM