Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Grand Rapids MI PD Response to Open Carrier

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2014, 09:43 AM   #81
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2140 Times on 968 Posts
Likes Given: 2079

Quote:
Originally Posted by John_Deer View Post
I saw the video. There is no church in view of the officers dash cam. All the officer could see is a man walking with his back to the officer. The man open carrying did nothing unusual unless walking down the sidewalk is unusual. The officer said he detained the man to see if he is a felon. I don't see that as probable cause but I am not a lawyer. The officer could have got the mans weapon and ID without making him lay on the concrete for an extended period of time. Then again the open carrier could have cooperated without all the chin music. It appears that every word he said just aggravated the officer.

Here is a link to the 911 call and the dash cam footage. Today I have found several links to the same footage. They are being taken down very quickly. I don't know how long this link will last but here it is:

http://www.mlive.com/news/grand-rapids/index.ssf/2014/01/see_unedited_encounter_between.html

I think if you weren't breaking the law and some cop just decided to make you lay on the concrete, it wouldn't take you to long to protest his behavior. Cops are not God, we do have a right to protest and loudly if we are being abused. They have no right to abuse their power. I'm an old guy with a bum leg and if some SOB ordered me to the ground for no good reason you can bet your a$$ I'd be giving him grief. This is not a police state (at least not yet) if a cop is so afraid he can't treat a law abiding citizen with respect, it's time for him to find a different job.
Old 01-14-2014, 09:53 AM   #82

Liked 180 Times on 128 Posts
Likes Given: 128

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjd3282 View Post