Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Gifting a gun.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2012, 06:49 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

What I did when I worked in retail selling guns was have person A buy person B a gift card for the amount (weapon, tax and DROS fee) then give it to person B so they can fill out the paperwork. It worked, ruined the surprise, but it worked.

Old 12-03-2012, 07:33 AM   #12
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Liked 6559 Times on 3635 Posts
Likes Given: 27929

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosin View Post
So then I can buy myself a rifle, then go to my friends house, and he can buy it from me?

Like an 'Oh man, you bought the last Mosin with the matching numbers I wanted to complete my collection! I'll give you $200 for it!'

My question is, what is the difference if I buy a gun and sell it to my friend the next day, same day, or 5 years after I buy the gun. In the eyes of the law.

Example is, I was at my LGS, and called my buddy to let him know they had the .22 he liked in stock, he asked me to pick it up.

What is the difference (legally) in doing that, or buying it and selling it to him 'the next day' because I had buyers remorse?
Now, your dealing in firearms which is illegal without the proper FFL. Even know you didn't initially plan on selling the gun when you bought it, you would have a hard time proving that the the BATFE if you got caught.

If your giving your buddy a gun as a gift, that's fine. But if your buddy wants to buy a gun, he has to go the the gun shop and do it himself. If you just bought a gun that your buddy really wants, I really don't know how long you should legally wait. Maybe a few months???

Old 12-03-2012, 11:07 AM   #13
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1377 Times on 936 Posts
Likes Given: 472