Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Legal and Activism (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/)
-   -   Florida Gender Discrimination? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/florida-gender-discrimination-37196/)

PTsouthpaw 01-21-2011 08:37 PM

Florida Gender Discrimination?

A friend of mine lives in Tallahassee, in a rougher area. After a few recent break ins in her apartment building she decided she wanted to get a firearm to keep for home defense. She has experience with firearms, and firearm safety, I know this because I have been shooting with her before.

When she went to look at used firearms at pawn shops, she was told, at 4 different places, that women could not buy guns in Florida. Thinking logically, I told her there is no way that this is law, or legal. I am no legal expert, especially on the laws of a state other than the one I live in, but this seems like a no brainer to me. My friend is a resident of Florida, not just a student who lives there part time. What is the real deal here?

CA357 01-21-2011 08:43 PM

I'm not aware of any laws anywhere in the Country that prohibit women from purchasing firearms. Have your friend contact the Florida Dept. Of Justice. Something is not right here. Maybe she's leaving something out of the story.

danf_fl 01-21-2011 08:58 PM

Someone is not providing the correct information or is not telling the whole story. Gender has nothing to do with purchasing a handgun.

Overkill0084 01-21-2011 09:00 PM

Either they are full of excrement, or she has neglected some key facts.

amoroque 01-21-2011 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CA357 (Post 426667)
Maybe she's leaving something out of the story.

Or adding something to the story.

PTsouthpaw 01-21-2011 09:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CA357 (Post 426667)