Felon with a firearm?
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Felon with a firearm?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 08:09 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 283 Times on 204 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I was at work and talking to a guy about guns and he told me he is a convicted felon and is still allowed to have long guns but no handguns because he said that he is still allowed to bear arms and they cant take that right away from him? He said that thw conviction was for carry a consealed weapon and a drug charge. Im no lawyer and thought I was was pretty knowledgeable about firearm laws but this just doesn't make sense to me. I just dont know how that is possible? I dont think it will make a difference but im in Michigan. Any insight would be appreciated.

Last edited by fupuk; 01-23-2013 at 08:33 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-23-2013, 08:44 AM   #2

Liked 1616 Times on 944 Posts
Likes Given: 1894

Best of my knowledge a felon can't own a firearm without having their right reinstated by a judge. Being a felon loses most if not all rights dependent on the state. In my state thay can't vote, own a gun period as long as they have their rights tasken by the felony conviction.

Now I don't know all states and don't even attempt to know the law everywhere. But I don't know if a state that allows certain firearms on a felony conviction. Now the guy might ber talking more about taking what he sees as amoral stand and I'm not sure I'd be willing to blame him there. But often the law and morals do not see eye to eye.