Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Legal and Activism (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/)
-   -   -Colorado- CBI - Question (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f97/colorado-cbi-question-29518/)

ShoganCO 07-20-2010 07:38 PM

-Colorado- CBI - Question

I am a former USAF Combat Veteran and have lived in Colorado Since 1999. I've never had any infraction greater than a speeding ticket four years ago and yet when I went into Cabelas to purchase a Moss Shotgun, CBI denied my right to purchase a weapon? It's not like I don't already own weapons?

Anyone have any idea why I would be denied? I carry a high level DoD clearance as well which is current. I filed my petition so I am guessing I will know within the next 30 days regardless. I found it a little irritating and even a bit embarrassing.

Dillinger 07-20-2010 08:01 PM

Welcome to the FTF Community and Thank You for your service to our Country.

Some might like you to stop by the Introductions and tell us a little about yourself. That is up to you, but it let's people know you are here to stay. :)

Denials can happen for many reasons, not the least of which are just a quick glance by an overworked department employee.

Did you include your SS# on your form or leave it blank? Leaving it blank is what most people WANT to do, instinctively, but usually if there is a delay or a denial, that is what we see in the shop.

Are you a new resident to Colorado? If so, that can be a problem also. Recent change of permanent address has been seen as a red flag, especially if the move is extensive ( hot to snowy climate, across country, Alaska to Maine, that sort of thing ).

It's also possible that Cabela's made an error in their submittal.

I would wait for the paperwork request as to why to come back and see what the "excuse" is. I am betting it was because someone did a cursory look and didn't go any further.

JD