Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Legal and Activism > Carry at work

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 03:46 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Carry at work

I am a REALTOR in South Florida with a full concelled weapons permit. As a realtor i am an independent contractor with the company. I was informed today that i cannot carry my weapon in any of their offices.

When i signed up, there was no mention of this and there was no waiver that i had to sign.

With all the "new" laws, are they allowed to do this?

Looking for answers,
Sidawony
Florida

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-09-2012, 03:50 PM   #2

Liked 1956 Times on 1030 Posts
Likes Given: 4284

How exactly did the topic of guns at work come up? I've worked lots of places and it's never come up...

And yes, an employer can do that, same as a business posting a GFZ sign...

Proud Supporter of USA Shooting

Old 10-09-2012, 03:53 PM   #3
JTJ
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1665 Times on 907 Posts
Likes Given: 532

It is their office but what do you tell a client that is carrying? Good way to lose clients. Find another broker to work for. If you have a contract, a policy change is grounds for breaking the contract.

Patron Member NRA
"I would not be an old man if I had not been an armed young man." JTJ
You are either pro gun or pro crime.

People Like This 
Old 10-09-2012, 04:08 PM   #4

Understand, but i would never tell a client, "if you are carrying, i cannot service you"

Old 10-09-2012, 04:10 PM   #5