Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Mini-14 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f95/)
-   -   What's wrong with the new Mini's? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f95/whats-wrong-new-minis-84374/)

snowball 02-16-2013 02:35 PM

What's wrong with the new Mini's?

Hi everyone. I'm a noob to this forum, and need some advice about Mini-14's. Way back in the late 70's-early 80-'s, I had a Mini-14, and it ran like a Swiss watch and was as reliable as an old Dodge Dart. Too bad I needed some money.

Fast forward to 2013. I just got a Ruger Ranch Rifle at Wally Mart, and I'm a little disappointed. First, I'd read that they came with a 20 round mag, but all I got was that silly 5 round thing. Ok, it is what it is. So, I got some John Masen 20 rounders from galati, and they don't work at all. The ad said these don't work with models beginning with "580". Well, ok, my Mini starts with "582" so I'm good to go, right? I guess not. They lock up ok, but I have to bump-bump-bump the bolt open and closed with the heel of my hand-they drag so much. An old Ramline that worked 100% years ago doesn't work much better in this thing. Same with a Thermold.

So, I've checked the sites that sell mags (including Ruger) trying to find magazines especially for series 580's or 582's, whatever-no such thing I guess (not that anyone has any mags at all).

Can anyone tell me what gives with this thing? In a shtf situation, I'm better off with my sks than this R.R. with a 5 round magazine. If I'm stuck with it the way it is, I'm probably going to peddle it on G.B.

I sold my AR15 (which worked 100% with any aftermarket mag I stuck in). Maybe that was a big mistake.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

tri70 02-17-2013 01:22 PM