Thinking my next purchase will be an M1A - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Mini-14 Forum > Thinking my next purchase will be an M1A

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-25-2013, 01:54 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2499 Times on 1424 Posts
Likes Given: 1946

After using the Mini-14, I've come to realize that stepping up

I would want the 30.06, anyway. Which retros me right back

to the Garand, anyway. But I am a large guy.

.308 just isn't my cup of tea. But are you sure you wouldn't

want the extra accuracy, and maybe higher caliber of a Ruger Scout or Guide

bolt action?

Old 12-02-2013, 08:14 PM   #12

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by hawkguy View Post
i have no real experience with the M1A. i do however, really want one and have for years now. every time i see one at a LGS i ask to handle it.

IF you can get past the initial 1500-3000 investment for a quality M1A.....i can't , in my poor days i had vehicles worth less than an M1A ...makes me sound really old, but i'm not that old, my cars were just really really sh*tty . as said, IF you can get over that purchase, then you have .75 cents to a buck a round to enjoy the thing.

i would love an M1a, but i am positive i would not shoot it enough to merit the cost. imo, a minum of 200 rounds is needed to have a good range/plinking trip....that amount of ammo has me concerned if it is 223.........308 will normally double that cost.

these are MY reasons i haven't taken the dive....if you feel it is something you could use and enjoy, please get it.....i will be forever jealous....

all that said....i could have sold my cheap AR off during the black rifle craze and likly covered 80-100% of an M1A. can anyway say missed opportunity.....?

it would have been a scout squad for me.....
Hawkguy;
I have three MiA's. Two Match Targets and on Loaded model. I feel so deprived -- NOT...!