Shooting Accuracy

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Mini-14 Forum > Shooting Accuracy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2012, 04:13 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Shooting Accuracy

You would think you could just pick up a rifle get on target pull the trigger and shoot well. I have only been shooting for 12 years and i find the more i learn the more i don't know. I do the natural point of aim thing and follow threw. Keep in mind i am self taught (i know not a good thing). Last week i was watching a shooting training video and i noticed they were using the joint of their trigger finger instead of the pad. What a difference shooting using the joint. I had a lot more control strength using the joint. Now if your rifle has a 4lb or better trigger with a clean break shooting with the pad of your trigger finger might not be better my rifles don't. I softened the trigger spring on my Mini to get a 4lb trigger but it does not break clean. When i griped the wrist of my mini i found it to be a little bit of a reach to get the joint of my trigger finger on the trigger. So i did some research and found you can modify your grip to make using the finger joint more comfortable. By sliding you trigger hand to the right you can comfortably put your trigger finger any were you want on the trigger. Any how my trigger control this week was better than it has ever been as i got tired i was able to still shoot pretty well and i found i and i was able not think about trigger control at all and was able to only think about staying on target. I am going to order a new trigger spring from Midway and try it. If i can shoot well with it the faster lock time might help me.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!