You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Long Guns > Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion > Mini-14 Forum >

Improving the Mini

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2013, 03:53 PM   #31
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 211 Times on 136 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaseyChadwell View Post
OK...could you post a pic? I'm still confused I am new to the whole mini thing and I'm a sucker for accuracy. I have decided that for what I'll be using the mini for 1.5-2" is more than acceptable, so any help would be greatly appreciated.
Here is a great link someone posted on one of my threads with the same questions with a ton of stuff to help accurize your mini. Has some videos too. The bushings are something else that is inexpensive that I have heard helps
I bought the buffers and will try them when they come in.
I want an accustrut but I have an old style gas block and they do not fit on my model. I am going to try everything else though.

http://www.ruger-mini-14-firearms.com/mini_14_30_accessories.php

Old 12-02-2013, 04:38 AM   #32

Liked 17 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Donn View Post
Have had a SS Mini since the mid 80's. Has the same gas block as ccase39's with the standard issue wooden stock. The only thing I don't like about it are the magazines. Factory mags are expensive, $125 for a 30rd at the gun show last weekend, and after market ones are hit and miss, don't always fit. Wish they took AR mags, would make life a lot easier.
I had a mini 14 for a few months , didn't like it at all, I want to say it was 180 or 181 series, it was pretty darn old, but I got it for nothing and made a few hundred off it when I sold it, anyway I ordered a few metal 30 rd mags from promag and all of them worked excellent, never had a prob. out of them

Old 12-02-2013, 05:13 AM   #33
Lifetime Supporting Member