Video: Youngest working with new guns - Page 2
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > Video: Youngest working with new guns

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2011, 04:41 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Thank you both for the input. I appreciate it greatly.
Im sure I do have to "man up" to this, its just difficult because he is my first child and im still new to the game, that protective side of me has some difficulty opening up a bit still.
Ive had to learn about firearms on my own and, I really had no idea how to even begin teaching him except for the fact that guns do kill and they are not toys. Luckily the one way I did not have to worry abut him learning was the "Stallone & co" way with tv. we are always active outdoors with camping, hiking and such. He doesn't watch tv often but somewhere along the line he learned to use the "ratings" and I always see him checking to see if the program is PG, G,PG13 and so on. He refuses to watch anything not in his rating. Lol. Hes a bright kid but sometimes loses focus easily and that is what makes me nervous. I guess that is my fear with this. I guess I dont want to see him improperly handling something and myself "freak out" and scare him. I also dont really have anyone locally that can give me the guidance to teach him. Your information has been helpful and i will take it all into thought but I will also do some more research and planning before taking that step.

I do like the idea of having him clean the rifle as a start, letting him get a feel I guess you can say. Should I remove the bolt just a precaution or allow him to see the rifle in its entirety?

Once again..thanks for the input.

Old 10-03-2011, 04:46 AM   #12

Liked 78 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 8