Stupid things you've seen or done at the range.......
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > Stupid things you've seen or done at the range.......

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2011, 01:46 PM   #1
RIP my good and faithful dog.
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 7107 Times on 4278 Posts
Likes Given: 8625

Default Stupid things you've seen or done at the range.......

MobileMarine's "Huh? What?" thread reminded me of something stupid I did my first time at the range and I thought I'd share it.

I have very little experience with guns and a friend got me hooked on shooting. I bought myself a revolver and when I felt ready, I took it to the range. I went to a very small indoor range and I was there alone. I'm excited as I could be........I was shooting my very own gun for the very first time. As I'm unpacking my gun and ammo, I'm running all the rules through my head......keep it pointed downrange, don't put my finger on the trigger until I'm ready to shoot, open the cylinder when setting it down, etc.

So, I'm excited beyond belief, I lay the gun on the bench, open my very first box of .38 ammo and load 6 rounds into the cylinder. I lift the gun, mindful of my stance and where my hands are on the gun. Steady the gun, pushing forward with the strong hand, pulling back with the support hand, etc.

I FIRE OFF THE FIRST ROUND EVER FROM MY VERY OWN GUN!!! I am stunned and after freezing for a moment, I set the gun down and take a few steps back. In all my excitement, I forgot to put my eyes and ears on. I am totally but temporarily deaf in my left ear and the right one is ringing like crazy. I am embarrassed and afraid for my hearing health at the same time. I gather my wits about me, put my eyes and ears on and have a wonderful shooting experience for the rest of the time at the range.

Let me guarantee anyone who may not know. A GP100 is a very loud gun.

Anyone else want to share a story?