spinner target
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > spinner target

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 02:24 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default spinner target

howdy.
in my seemingly endless free time as a college student i have decided over winter break that im going to make a spinner target to get over the boredom that comes during winter break.
i want to make two sets one that can withstand up to my 30.06 and another that is for up to rimfire only. what is the minimum thickness that you would use for each? im thinking using 3/8th plate should be sufficient for the centerfire and 1/4 should be fine for rimfire. and i was going to hang them so that all shots are deflected downward
any input would be great.

Remington 870 express 12gauge
Remington 597 LS HB .22lr
Remington 721 30.06

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 12-11-2011, 03:31 AM   #2

Liked 770 Times on 491 Posts
Likes Given: 241

Most centerfires will buzz right thru 3/8 regular(cold rolled) steel. Your 30/06 would go thru or make quite a mark on 1/2" regular(cr) steel. 1/4 or 3/16 is fine for rimfires.

Just walking on the edge of of my grave.

Old 12-11-2011, 03:44 AM   #3

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

I have biult one and. I yoused 3/4 steel it stopes a 308 but after a lot of rounds going in to it and it starts to blow threw it so I hope some of this helps

Old 12-11-2011, 03:52 AM   #4