Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Range Report (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f66/)
-   -   My first trip to the range (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f66/my-first-trip-range-94984/)

Budasac 08-05-2013 01:40 AM

3 Attachment(s)
I just got my permit a week ago and took my first trip to the range today. Having never fired a pistol before I think I did pretty well. (I'm happy with it anyway). I went with a few other guys so I had the chance to fire a few different guns.

I have a Glock 23 (.40) and a S&W M&P 15-22 rifle.
I also had the opportunity to shoot a Ruger SR22, a S&W "Bodyguard" (.380), and a .45 caliber Taurus.

The following are my first two mags with the Ruger , then the Glock, and lastly the S&W .380. Keep in mind this is my first time shooting any gun at all.( This is at 20 feet.)

Gatoragn 08-05-2013 01:44 AM

Looks like you are off to an excellent start.

sputnik1988 08-05-2013 01:45 AM

Nice!

Ya did good.

JW357 08-05-2013 02:27 AM

You did exceptionally better than a lot of "experienced" shooters. Fundamentals, that's all it is!

Congrats.

Budasac 08-05-2013 03:19 AM

Thanks guys, I had a great time. I'm hooked for sure, just wish it wasn't so expensive. Besides the buy-in (Guns, safe, accessories), ammo is crazy expensive. I bought the Glock from a friend who gave me some ammo he had with it. A 100 round box of Winchester white .40 S&W had a sticker on it for $18.99. I bought one the other day for $48.

Between me and my buddy (we were sharing guns) we went through 850 rounds in 2 hours. Granted, about 400-450 were .22 lr, but still. It wasn't a cheap day. (Plus I had to buy 100 rounds of .40 on the way out to replace some of what I burned through.)

therewolf 08-05-2013 03:22 AM

Certainly better than my first attempt.;)

Budasac 08-10-2013 04:34 PM