Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > My First-Ever Visit to a Range Today

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2009, 02:20 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default My First-Ever Visit to a Range Today

A co-worker with two 1911's took me to a private range this afternoon to try out his 1911 45ACPs. I am a newbie and have only a Mossy 500 tactical for HD now, but have the fever and now want a handgun. I thought I was all set on the Springfield XD-45ACP until today. The 1911 is a sweet device. Both of his were Kimbers, but different model years with the slightest of differences. I shot about 100 rounds through them.

He also let me try out his "pocket" .38 double action 3", which taught me the uselessness on such things outside of ten feet range. I now understand the advantages of the 5" barrel pistol...

So: whichizzit whichizzit whichizzit? 1911 45ACP or a Springfield XD-45 ACP? Without being able to actually fire a Springfield it's a tough question!

BTW, compared to rifles, pistols feel kind of, umm..... sloppy (my impression as a complete newbie to shooting). So now I have a rifle jones after firing 100 rounds on my friend's FAL (which he built himself), which fires .308 rounds (approx 150g) over 2800 fps....

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 06-29-2009, 02:47 AM   #2

Liked 17 Times on 12 Posts

Glad to hear you had fun.

If you still have to ask 'tween a 1911 and the XD, then do yourself a favor and go to a range and rent an XD. That is the only true way to know what you like best, and no one will beat you up over your decision.