High Standard M1911A1 & SCCY 9MM
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report >

High Standard M1911A1 & SCCY 9MM

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 03:54 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 102 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 109

Default High Standard M1911A1 & SCCY 9MM

Did a quick trip to the range today to break in 2 new pistols, the first is a High Standard M1911A1 and the second was a SCCY 9mm. In the first 5 minuets of shooting I managed to blow away my target sticks so the rest of the time the paper hung from tree's.

First the 1911, which I have to say blew me away. This is my first time shooting a full size goverment model and wow, butter smooth does not even descibe it, I am a Glock guy and I never got this feeling from any of my Glocks. Anyway fired off a 100 or so rounds without ONE malfunction, simply amazing, then it happened. During a mag swap I dropped a mag and it dug into the sugar sand, I pulled it out blew it off shook it and fully expecting it to jam the works slapped it in and kept shooting. After being filled with sand from head to toe it ran flawlessly for the rest of the day. Accuracy is what I expected, very well suited to do its job and I have no complaints.

Next is the SCCY, which I expected to be awsome and it did not let me down. My wife only had one jam with steel case ammo from the mag not being fully seated, a quick slap and it went back into battery and ran good the rest of the day. The DAO trigger on the SCCY is a little hard to get use to but this was her first time shooting with her eyes open and she was getting solid hits on target at 15 yards.

All targets were shot offhand at 15 yards, the first is the accuracy test of the M1911A1, 14 shots. The other two were a mix of both guns.
3.jpg   4.jpg   2.jpg   1.jpg  

Last edited by deathkricket; 03-10-2014 at 03:58 AM.