GSG 1911-22 range report and problems
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > GSG 1911-22 range report and problems

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2011, 10:20 PM   #1
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5646 Times on 2952 Posts
Likes Given: 372

Default GSG 1911-22 range report and problems

there was a father teaching the kids to shoot an ar15 one lain over and he had them picking up the empty cases. i let them try the 458 socom out and they enjoyed and gave me all the brass the kids picked up!! good haul on range brass!! most of it is 223 and 30-06.

ok today was the first day of shooting the GSG 1911-22. it wasnt without issue but those were quickly resolved. first the bad. i removed the firing pin safety and dry cycling and dry firing showed no issues. when i started shooting it kept locking up. took me a while to figure out the firing pin safety lever next to the hammer kept hanging in the empty hole in the slide. got hat fixed removing the lever the gun functioned great. i thought i needed to leave it to space the hammer. the sear needs its safety arm left in place for the proper function of the sear and disconector. removing the safety greatly improves the trigger pull.

the other issue... cracked from within 200 rounds. the frame as you can see below is indeed metal injection molded. i would NOT use the gsg 45acp conversion for this gun. the broken piece of the frame does not seem to affect function or accuracy. so i am not going to send it back at this point.

(continued)

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!