Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report > Colt sp6940 report

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-08-2011, 01:59 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Colt sp6940 report

Hey Everyone,

When out and shot my new colt today. Fired 320 rounds of PMC X-TAC m885 5.56 ammo. The rifle ran very well with only a minor complications which I believe are magazine problems and one scope problem.

Goods:
1. Despite hot rounds, there were no jams and the rifle worked very well.
2. Good ejection of the brass.

Concerns and Questions:
1. I was using 2 factory 20 round mags and 3 pmag 30 rounders. I started with the factory mags and then went through the pmags without a hiccup. Now, here is the problem and maybe this is just because I am still a beginner.

After reloading the mags, I started with the pmag. I put the magazine in (with the bolt forward, not back). I then pulled the charging handle in attempt to charge the round... nothing. The bolt went back forward but did not take a round with it. I then noticed that although the pmag seemed all the way up, it wasnt locked in. And despite everything I tried, it wouldn't lock. I then pull back the charging handle while simultaneously pushing up on the pmag. It partially grabbed a round causing it to jam and ruining the round.

So I then reloaded the factory metal mags and put one in the mag well (with the bolt forward). I pulled the charging handle and it charged the round completely fine. So was something going on with the pmags? Was it something I did to the pmags? Or am I missing something here? Any help is greatly appreciated because it got really annoying dealing with this!