You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > General Firearms Forums > Range Report >

AK-47 Tasco Reddot


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2010, 05:06 PM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Warren2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 25
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I've seen those Tascos at Wallie World, look like well worth a try for that price, but i will give you another reasonably priced alternative to those $300++ monsters... take a look at a Vortex Strike Fire red dot system. Only $125 and they seem to work quite well. I put one on my SKS the other day and it works very well so far. Has both red and green dots, scope covers, comes with mount for flat tops and a 2x multiplyer.
Warren2 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 08:01 PM   #12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
User Name's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diggsbakes View Post
Kricket,
Glad that worked out for you. Its a trip what little help a bone stock AK needs to get it shooting' better. I've used several cheap(er) optics applications on AKs along the way and found that you don't need much to improve accuracy, speed and target acquisition. I'm gonna go get one of those pretty quick after hearing/seeing the results.

Username, (strange screen name btw) check out these quick detachable mounts: Leapers UTG 5th Generation Quick Detachable Picatinny-Style Double Rail Mount AK-47 Matte - MidwayUSA

They might cost about $10 more than your standard mount, but they are incredibly convenient and hold zero well after detaching and reattaching. they are also surprisingly stout. I like to practice them with use of scope around 75-100 yards, then detach and put many holes in a target in close range, then reattach and engage further target again and repeat process.

Good Times!
Thanks Diggs! I actually just ordered that exact one. Thanks for the help!

-Shawn
__________________
Nut up or Shut up!
User Name is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 03:48 PM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 167
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Wow! That mount is super high. If you start shooting longer distances, you might want to look into a lower mount, so you can hold consistant cheek-to-stock.
afi1 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2010, 04:43 PM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
deathkricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Classified
Posts: 777
Liked 156 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 158

Default

you know, i thought the same thing when i put it on, i was thinking theres no way i will be able to use this thing, but it is a lot more easy to use then it first looks as it is very easy to distance shoot with it, plus i can drop down lower to my iron sights with i prefer for long distance any way.
deathkricket is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:21 AM   #15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MrGrumpy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Overland Park,Kansas
Posts: 52
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I just bought that same scope mount only mine is the quick detach version. the only problem I had is the mounting rail was bent slightly to the the left. Did you have the same problem? My local gunsmith is going to try to bend it straighter. hopfully he can get it corrected.
MrGrumpy89 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:27 AM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
deathkricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Classified
Posts: 777
Liked 156 Times on 95 Posts
Likes Given: 158

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrGrumpy89 View Post
I just bought that same scope mount only mine is the quick detach version. the only problem I had is the mounting rail was bent slightly to the the left. Did you have the same problem? My local gunsmith is going to try to bend it straighter. hopfully he can get it corrected.
No mine was right on and came with my AK, guess you got a bunk one, i would take it back where you bought it and replace it.
deathkricket is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:20 PM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
MrGrumpy89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Overland Park,Kansas
Posts: 52
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

So I took mine to the gun smith. turns out it wasn't the mount, my reciever was bent so he fixed it; 40 bucks later. we'll see tomorrow how it shoots. I put a 3x9 scope on it.
MrGrumpy89 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 04:06 AM   #18
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Snyder,Texas
Posts: 20
Default

what type of mount is this and where do ya get em. got a ak and would love to put a cheapo dot on it
bmb1127 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
new Tasco red dot scope has 2 red dots??? BullNutria .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion 7 02-01-2013 05:04 PM
Tasco Pro Point 3 part ndtiger Optics & Mounts 8 03-04-2009 03:12 AM