Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Optics & Mounts (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/)
-   -   Zeiss conquest or Victory? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/zeiss-conquest-victory-86659/)

KA5ROW 03-16-2013 09:53 AM

Zeiss conquest or Victory?

OK for those that know what is the difference between a Zeiss Conquest 6.5x20x50 Rapid Z 1000 $850 and a Zeiss Victory FL Diavari 624x56 T $2800

I have the Zeiss conquest 3x9x50 on my 223 Winchester Model 70. But need something good for my Browning 7 MM Mag the store had the conquest 6.5x20x50. So what do you get for the extra $1941. I don't see as well as I once did so I need all the help I can get.

treehugger49 03-16-2013 02:01 PM

I'm not an expert on Zeiss, but you're looking at two different scopes targeted for different markets at different price points - basically entry level vs. top-of-the-line.

Size, materials, features, coatings, lenses, etc. all contribute to a particular product's market value. You pay more, you get more. Whether the Diavari commands the price differential is your call.

locutus 03-16-2013 04:10 PM

Why on earth a 6.5-20 on a hunting rifle????

A 2-8 would be far superior.

Txhillbilly 03-17-2013 04:40 AM

While the Conquest is a decent scope,the Diavari line is one of the finest scopes made.
Most average shooters that just go shooting/hunting a couple times a year might not be able to really see the differences in good scopes under most favorable conditions,the higher end scopes really show why they cost so much when the going gets tough as in weather and light conditions.
The glass difference and scope internal parts between the two are like comparing a Chevy to a Bentley.