Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Wear Glasses, Asking Noob Question

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2012, 11:38 PM   #1
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1763 Times on 987 Posts
Likes Given: 1302

Default Wear Glasses, Asking Noob Question

As the thread title hints, I am a newbie to scopes. I had one once about 30 years ago, but it came with the rifle and my eyes were much younger.

Here's the problem. With my eyes the way they are now I am barely able to see a handgun's front sight with my street glasses. I am thinking seriously about buying a .22 WMR for target and varmint use, but I don't know if I'll be able to see the crosshairs in the scope.

The question: Are there reasonably priced scopes out there with a diopter adjustment that I can use to compensate for my vision?

I can't tell you what kind of rifle yet. Until I find out if I will be able to use a scope I am holding off on buying anything, but it will be a bolt action something or other.

Thanks in advance for your help and advice

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-13-2012, 12:21 AM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 8314 Times on 3594 Posts
Likes Given: 1278

Yes, there are- what is your vision problem, and how bad? There ARE limits of adjustment on scopes.

What we have heah is.... failure to communicate.

Old 07-13-2012, 12:30 AM   #3

Liked 85 Times on 65 Posts

I am very nearsighted, bu i have never encountered any problems with any of my scopes with or without my glasses.

the scope's magnification seems to correct any visual deficiences.