Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > "Tactical" Scope Needed?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2011, 02:21 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default "Tactical" Scope Needed?

I have a Savage 10FCP-K on order and am trying to decide on a scope.

I will be using the gun solely for target shooting. I anticipate starting in the 400-600 yard range, with the goal to get consistent at 800-1000 yards eventually.

Since I'm just getting into rifles and long range shooting (am primarily a pistol shooter currently), I'm not sure what I should go with in terms of a scope. I have about $600 I can spend on a scope, but I'm thinking maybe start with a $300 scope until I get good at 400 yard shots and in maybe a year upgrade.

So would it make my life easier to have a scope that has knobs for MOA/mil adjustments on it, or a more traditional "hunting" scope?

Of the two examples, which would suit me better? Thanks!

Cabela's: Burris Fullfield II Riflescope

Bushnell Elite 3200 Tactical Rifle Scope 10x 40mm 1/10 Mil Adjustments Mil-Dot Reticle Matte - MidwayUSA

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-18-2011, 02:26 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1151 Times on 641 Posts
Likes Given: 458

I have a Burris scope and like it just fine, it is a 3x9x40 Fullfield II and it is a fine hunting scope. I am sure Burris makes something that would work for you.

Old 07-18-2011, 02:54 AM   #3

Liked 293 Times on 196 Posts
Likes Given: 25