Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Optics & Mounts (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/)
-   -   Shooting with a scope at various distances? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/shooting-scope-various-distances-23866/)

Mount_Sannine 02-26-2010 02:05 AM

Shooting with a scope at various distances?

Hello everyone,

I'm new to scopes and I got a new one installed on my Diana 350 Magnum air rifle, the scope is 4x32. My problem is that I sighted the scope at 25 yards then 50 yards and I was hitting targets with it quite well, I tried it today at 100 and 150 yards by shooting at a pond of water (I purposely shot at water to easily find out where the pellet is hitting) and it turns out the pellet is going lower then the target.

My question is, should the scope have a different vertical "tuning" for different distances? And if the answer is yes should I manually change the tuning every time I need to fire at something which is near or far?

Thank you for your much appreciated help.

lonyaeger 02-26-2010 02:16 AM

First off, you really don't want to shoot at a body of water, regardless of where you are, what type of gun you're shooting, or any other circumstances!!!

Secondly, you might just Google "Sighting in a rifle scope." You'll find lots of step-by-step instructions.

Mount_Sannine 02-26-2010 02:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lonyaeger (Post 236863)
First off, you really don't want to shoot at a body of water, regardless of where you are, what type of gun you're shooting, or any other circumstances!!!

Ok, but why?

skullcrusher 02-26-2010 04:15 AM