Scopes
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Scopes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2009, 05:25 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Scopes

I am new at this, so please forgive me for being naive. I purchased my first rifle and now I have to figure what kind of scope fits me best. Gun time is going to be split between hunting and target. I figured if I set the gun up for target, it would be accurate in the field. Are there certain things I should look for in a scope? Is the most powerful always the best? What do you guys use and why? Any advice would be appreciated and heeded. I don't want to blow a lot of money on a scope that is not practical.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-15-2009, 09:42 AM   #2

Hey Jac,

First of all congrats on getting into this great sport! We need all the support we can get.... Definetely need more info from you.

You need to
1. Identify the calibre of firearm you are getting a scope for.
2. Do you plan on shooting long range or short range.
3. What is the terrain where you plan to hunt, for instance a long range scope would be impracticle in hilly/woodsy terrain where most shots are under 100 yds, and a short range scope would leave you short if say you are shooting coyotes across a vast open space.

Figure out your needs/budget and you can narrow down your choices!