Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Scope on my SCAR - PLEASE HELP!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-05-2012, 03:12 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fremont,CA
Posts: 483
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Txhillbilly View Post
An easy way to see if it is the mount would be take the other one that you say is on your AR15...
"An easy way..."
I've been avoiding just that. I have a very nice zero on my AR-15
and would rather not take it off. =(
...
Ah, what the hell. Might as well try it.

if the zombie apocalypse comes and I get bit because
my trusty-musty-crusty AR isn't zeroed... Txhillbilly, you'll be the
first one on my bite list! No hard feelings. I'm just sayin'
__________________

- Gloves
"When the situation gets too hot, put Gloves on"
or
"If the gun is cold to the touch, put Gloves on" -RustyShackleford101

Gloves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 01:23 PM   #12
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Overkill0084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Weber County, Utah
Posts: 3,832
Liked 2177 Times on 1121 Posts
Likes Given: 189

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloves View Post
Overkill0084, i hope it doesn't come to Jerry rigging it. This is a 1lb. scope top a 7.62 NATO chambered rifle. Even if the shim holds, I will fear for the accuracy of the next trigger pull.

I saw a Leopold youtube a while back that uses a mirror in-front of the lens. Factory default will be cross-hairs over each other. Makes sense.

Here is what I found:


IS IT THE SCOPE OR MOUNT?
Why wouldn't it hold? Just clamp a bit of shim in the ring to raise/lower the scope as needed. If it slips, it would have probably slipped anyway. I've seen shimming hold up well w/ pistol scopes on magnum applications. I doubt your SCAR is that harsh in the grand scheme of things.
__________________
Cheers,
Greg
USAF Retired
NRA Life Member

"Why can't I just eat my waffle?" B. H. Obama. (Sort of representative of his whole tenure, when you think about it.)
Overkill0084 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 01:29 PM   #13
10-32
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mountainman13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 11,525
Liked 2910 Times on 1715 Posts

Default

I word. Rosin

__________________

I don't need No stinking signature.

mountainman13 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 02:14 AM   #14
Crazy Azz Redneck
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Txhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,313
Liked 994 Times on 569 Posts
Likes Given: 452

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloves View Post
"An easy way..."
I've been avoiding just that. I have a very nice zero on my AR-15
and would rather not take it off. =(
...
Ah, what the hell. Might as well try it.

if the zombie apocalypse comes and I get bit because
my trusty-musty-crusty AR isn't zeroed... Txhillbilly, you'll be the
first one on my bite list! No hard feelings. I'm just sayin'
If you can set you turrets to zero on the scope,then it is super easy to do.
Just write down/mark/or take a picture of the exact location the mount is on the rail of your AR,and when you replace it in the same spot and reset the turrets to zero,it should be dead on if the scope has any kind of decent tracking ability.

Even if you cannot zero the turrets,just write down where they are,and then put them back to the same settings when your done.

This isn't too hard to do.

I did a little research,and see that your mounts are just a Burris PEPR mount with SWFA's private label.Those mounts should be good.
I've never had or cared for Leatherwood scopes,not that they're not good,I just usually buy higher quality optics.

I would bet that the problem is in the scope,not the mount or rails on the rifle.
__________________
Txhillbilly is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 02:22 AM   #15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dog2000tj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8,309
Liked 3731 Times on 1821 Posts
Likes Given: 13267

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mountainman13 View Post
I word. Rosin
I don't get it ... I Bing'd rosin and got this


__________________

Member: NRA GOA

ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
Est sularas oth mithas

"either way, you were guilty by association, so you were smited...." JD

My AR15 Build - Range Report
My AR458SOCOM Build

dog2000tj is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2012, 06:48 AM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fremont,CA
Posts: 483
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Txhillbilly, I'll try the scope swap tomorrow. So far i love the working
CMR. I also have to go through the manual on page 5 to see if that will
fix the zero. (Hi-lux got back to my inquiry).

Off-topic: The other 3 scopes i own are all Nikon with BDC reticules.
Not much more $$$ but that's a lot of $300 scopes.
Soap-box time: People say, spend same amount of $ or more on your
scope as you did your rife. Unnecessary. there are only a few things i'm
looking for in a scope and they can all be achieved for around $300.

  • Zoom (i admire the fixed scopes but wouldn't settle for that)
  • Clear glass (not needed to be the clearest in the industry)
  • Hold a zero under high shock
  • Durable/waterproof
  • Bullet drop reticule
  • Weight (can't be too heavy, but not needed to be ultra-light)
  • Shouldn't include electronics (led reticule light is ok)

So my question is, what does a $1,000 scope have/do that a $300 scope doesn't?

__________________

- Gloves
"When the situation gets too hot, put Gloves on"
or
"If the gun is cold to the touch, put Gloves on" -RustyShackleford101

Gloves is offline  
ratpacker Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 12:13 AM   #17
Crazy Azz Redneck
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Txhillbilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3,313
Liked 994 Times on 569 Posts
Likes Given: 452

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloves View Post

Off-topic: The other 3 scopes i own are all Nikon with BDC reticules.
Not much more $$$ but that's a lot of $300 scopes.


So my question is, what does a $1,000 scope have/do that a $300 scope doesn't?
First off Gloves,There's nothing wrong with $300 scopes,if they work for the job intended,and your happy with their performance.
Nikon makes some great scopes also,I have had a couple Monarch's in the past on some hunting rifles.But the lense coatings that Nikon uses are dark,and you loose about an hour of useable hunting light because of it,in morning or evening hunting light.
Not all of my optics are upper mid range priced,and I'm not a brand snob,but I have learned thru trial and error that you can't beat good optics.
We all would love to have a safe full of S&B's,March,U.S.Optics,etc.,but not many have the funds to do so.

I personally could care less how much money a gun cost versus the price of optics,I try to put best optics on a rifle for whatever the purpose of the rifle will be used,and at what ranges the gun will most likely be used the most.
Hell,I have a Swarovski PH scope on a $350 Savage 12 308 that I bought used.It's a great hunting scope on a great hunting rifle.Then I also have a couple cheap BSA scopes on 22lr's,but they are decent enough scopes for what the guns are used for-Rabbit's,Squirrel's,and target shooting 100yds or less.

To answer your question of a $1000 vs $300 scope,just go shoot with each of them.You'll find out the difference's yourself,and then you'll hate ever trying out the expensive one-because you'll be hooked on high quality optics,just like everyone else that has ever tried them out.
__________________
Txhillbilly is offline  
Gloves Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 12:24 AM   #18
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lonyaeger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bandera,Texas
Posts: 10,371
Liked 47 Times on 28 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gloves View Post
"An easy way..."
I've been avoiding just that. I have a very nice zero on my AR-15
and would rather not take it off. =(
...
Ah, what the hell. Might as well try it.

if the zombie apocalypse comes and I get bit because
my trusty-musty-crusty AR isn't zeroed... Txhillbilly, you'll be the
first one on my bite list! No hard feelings. I'm just sayin'
Huh? The guy's just trying to help you and, believe me, he knows what he's talking about.
__________________
lonyaeger is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:41 AM   #19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fremont,CA
Posts: 483
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lonyaeger View Post
Huh? The guy's just trying to help you and, believe me, he knows what he's talking about.
When I turn, I can't be held responsible for my zombie instincts. Fair warning. That being said... I did what Txhillbilly suggested and that what I was putting off. (shown in following post)
__________________

- Gloves
"When the situation gets too hot, put Gloves on"
or
"If the gun is cold to the touch, put Gloves on" -RustyShackleford101

Gloves is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 04:45 AM   #20
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Gloves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Fremont,CA
Posts: 483
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 18

Default

Tex, I removed my other Hi-Lux CMR from the Safariland mounts on top of my AR-15.

Next I dropped the functional scope onto the the SWFA S.S.A.L.T. mount on the SCAR-17...

Without any scope adjustments this is how it looked:


PERFECT! the top sticker is set 2.5" above the bottom one. The scope on the SCAR sits
3.5" above the barrel. So I'll be calling Hi-Lux at their next business hours to see if they
have anything more to say. Otherwise I'll be calling them on their 'Limited Lifetime Warranty.'

Once zeroed with a working CMR scope I'll be quite happy.

Tex, I placed the working scope back onto my AR and like you said, I do expect that it'll be
within 1MOA of when I took it off. No problem!

Thanks for the support guys! I'll let you know how the customer service is.

__________________

- Gloves
"When the situation gets too hot, put Gloves on"
or
"If the gun is cold to the touch, put Gloves on" -RustyShackleford101


Last edited by Gloves; 07-07-2012 at 04:50 AM. Reason: woops, ment to hit preview.
Gloves is offline  
Txhillbilly Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Scar sniperrifleman General Rifle Discussion 0 05-27-2012 12:17 PM
My FN SCAR 16s rifleshooter474 General Rifle Discussion 6 01-18-2012 02:17 AM
ACR or SCAR-H? shon0331 Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion 5 12-03-2011 04:50 PM
FN Scar 16S Cope's Distributing Sponsor Display 0 06-13-2011 05:05 PM
Fn scar ronl Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion 1 12-14-2009 07:00 AM