removing scope


Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > removing scope

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2014, 07:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
redscho's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newberry,Florida
Posts: 295
Liked 94 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 151

Default removing scope

After a scope is sighted in on a particular rifle then it is removed (mounts loosened) and slid of the rail, how far will it be off when reinstalled?
Rifle AR-15 with top rail. Scope Nikon 223 3 X 9, mounts Nikon P Series.



__________________

Red S.
"I want a government small enough to fit inside the Constitution."

redscho is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 07-26-2014, 07:42 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Highpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Mississippi Valley
Posts: 1,547
Liked 355 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 292

Default

Could be anywhere really. That is where a good collimator comes in handy. Once the rifle has been sighted in, check the cross hair location on the grid and write down it's coordinates. Then if the scope is later removed and re-installed, just re-attach the collimator and make sure it points to the same spot as before. If it doesn't, it's easy enough to dial in the scope again until it is.



__________________
Highpower is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2014, 07:51 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
SSGN_Doc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 4,348
Liked 2193 Times on 1292 Posts
Likes Given: 475

Default

No hard and fast answer. Sometimes they are pretty close to where they were. Sometimes they are off paper.

__________________
SSGN_Doc is offline  
Axxe55 Likes This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 11:11 AM   #4
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28,735
Liked 21582 Times on 12248 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

Default

a lot would depend on the mount and the rings themselves. i am sure some would hold zero much better than others. cost of those would probably be the best factor to consider as IMO the higher the quality, the closer they would should return to sero when remounted.

__________________
Axxe55 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 02:47 PM   #5
Supporting Member
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Sniper03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 5,219
Liked 2560 Times on 1251 Posts
Likes Given: 1287

Default

And as Axxe stated quality makes a big difference as well as little things like what were the mounts torqued to on the first location before removal and is it torqued to the same on the new installation? Then there is the aspect of what is accurate to one person, is not accurate to another. Some might be happy that after it was re-mounted if it was within a 4" group at 100 yards for example.
For me the group would have to be dead on at 100 yards and within 1 MOA.
So that is a factor also! From my experience most of the time if you re-mount a Scope leaving the rings on it and just re-titening the Rings or Mount to the Base Mount with the same torque specification you normally will be within 3" to 4" at 100 yards. Then you just have to tweek it to get it back on where it was before.

03

__________________

The Constitution is not an instrument for the Government to restrain the people. It is an instrument for the people to restrain the Government!
*Patrick Henry

Today, we need a nation of Minutemen, citizens who are not only prepared to take arms, but citizens who regard the preservation of freedom as the basic purpose of their daily life and who are willing to consciously work and sacrifice for that freedom."

-- John F. Kennedy

Sniper03 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 02:52 PM   #6
The Apocalypse Is Coming.....
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 28,735
Liked 21582 Times on 12248 Posts
Likes Given: 53672

Default

another point i'll add is this, that to return to zero when replaced requires a certain amount of precision that cheap can't achieve IMO. this would be one of those types of items where you get what you pay for. to design and manufacture an item that is capable of doing so out of quality materials cost money.

__________________
Axxe55 is offline  
2
People Like This 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 08:40 PM   #7
Moderator
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JonM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Rochester WI,Rochester WI
Posts: 17,585
Liked 5671 Times on 2962 Posts
Likes Given: 375

Default

use an adm (american defense manufacturing) quick detach mount. they return to zero so long as you attach it to the same rail location and push forward while attaching everytime.

i use adm's exclusively. i run one on my precision ar15 and cannot detect zero shift. i routinely take the optic off as it helps with cleaning. a 42x bench rest optic is a boat anchor so being able to remove it as needed without zero shift is a big plus

a collimeter will not tell you if zero shift has happened. they are seldom accurate enough to get a rifle on paper.

__________________

"Gun control: The theory that a woman found dead in an alley, raped and strangled with her panty hose, is somehow morally superior to a woman explaining to police how her attacker got that fatal bullet wound." — L. Neil Smith

The problem with being stupid is you cannot simply decide to stop doing dumb things...

JonM is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2014, 09:01 PM   #8
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Highpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Mississippi Valley
Posts: 1,547
Liked 355 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 292

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM View Post
a collimeter will not tell you if zero shift has happened. they are seldom accurate enough to get a rifle on paper.
Never been a problem for me but as they say YMMV.
__________________
Highpower is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 02:07 AM   #9
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Houston,texas
Posts: 274
Liked 37 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Have a fair number of scoped rifles. Seems I'm always swapping scopes around on one of the rifles, or taking one off for some reason and putting it back on. I always expect to re-zero a scope that went back on the same rifle. Can't recall ever not needing to re-zero a scope.

__________________
huffmanite is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2014, 02:31 AM   #10
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rick1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Clifton,Colorado
Posts: 4,160
Liked 1839 Times on 1025 Posts
Likes Given: 1214

Default

I have a flat top upper on my AR. I have my scope mounted to a 1 inch riser. I have a removable carry handle and also red dot. I have swapped back and forth many times. But as long as I put the riser back where it was I have not had to readjust the scope. The riser is the full length of the upper. I only shoot out to 100 yards with it. But it shoots real tight groups...sub MOA.



__________________

Romans 1:16 I am not ashamed of the gospel, because it is the power of God for the salvation of everyone who believes: first for the Jew, then for the Gentile.

Rick1967 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Removing Sig grips NaniManu SIG Sauer Forum 0 01-28-2014 09:30 PM
removing bluing frankthepirate Engraving & Refinishing 5 10-19-2011 02:01 AM
Removing rust mrasgt Gunsmithing Forum 22 01-29-2010 01:23 AM
Removing Sights Jdrawdy .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion 2 02-03-2009 12:03 AM
Removing the lightbar bluealtered Semi-Auto Handguns 7 09-17-2008 11:29 AM