Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Optics & Mounts (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/)
-   -   Optics selection (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/optics-selection-12600/)

supergus 04-06-2009 12:24 AM

Optics selection

I have a Bushmaster Predator flat top with a Nikon 3-9x40 scope which should be good for a few hundred yards. Problem is, I'd like something for CQC as well, as this will also be used for HD. Should I be looking at reflex, holographic, red dot? The issue is, there is no room left on the rail except between the ring mounts. I was thinking of a mounting block that positions the optic at 1 o'clock and mounting a compact optic. I'm just not sure if this will interfere with case ejection. I don't want a bunch of multi level rails cluttering things up. Any thoughts?

dog2000tj 04-07-2009 01:44 AM

Gus,

What about mounting the Nikon on a quick release? Then have a red dot/halo mounted on a quick release as well. A couple of lever pulls and 1 comes of and the other goes on.

Or, do you really want to carry 2 scopes on the rails at the same time? Maybe ditch the Nikon, put on a halo/red dot coupled with a magnifier on a flip to side lever mount?

For my 5.56 I'm leaning towards a red dot/magnifier set up with flip up iron sights for back up. Hope this helps.

truevil1313 04-07-2009 01:14 PM

That is the exact setup i have on my AR carbine,,an Aimpoint red dot, with a flip to the side mount on my 3x magnififer. This has proven to me to be the best of both worlds. It is dead on at 50yrds w/just the red dot, and flip over the magnifier and it is good to about 300yrds. With this setup I still have my front site post and flip up rear iron sites just in case. Both my red dot and the magnafier are on LaRue Tactical mounts, that have proven to me to be a true return to zero, after takeing them off and puting them back on.