New to AR15's/ruger556
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > New to AR15's/ruger556

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-09-2011, 01:05 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New to AR15's/ruger556

I am new to shooting AR 15's. I am planning on buying a Ruger 556e. This particular gun does not come with any optic sights. I am buying this gun because of the price and the options I will have to custom fit the gun myself. The question I have is what sight should I buy? I will be shooting the gun mainly at my local range. I know I will not be a crack shot but I want to eventually work up to the point to shoot up to 200 yds or so away. So I need to know what sight should I look to buy? I have a budget that I would like to stay in, 100-250 max. I would like to be in the middle. I realize that this is not alot of money to buy much but I need an entry level sight. Also which sight red dot, etc would work best?

Thanks, Mark

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 10-09-2011, 01:35 AM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 1150 Times on 750 Posts
Likes Given: 688

well the cheapest route will probly be iron sights. and at that range they can be fairly accurate. but if you must have magnification, try to find a nikon 2x7 or 3x9 scope. that should do just perfect. RDS, acogs, and holographics. would run a little more than your budget allows for a decent quality one. if you can manage to save a little more money. you can probly find an eotech for 320 and up.

when I am torn into strips and used as bandages
for my wounded comrades on the battlefield,