Mounting problem - Rem 700 - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Mounting problem - Rem 700

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2012, 01:50 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 319 Times on 197 Posts
Likes Given: 399

If you spent hard earned money on a rifle why would you not want it right? If the action is not machined right other things might be wrong inside the action.

It might just be me but, when I purchase an item I expect it to meet my expectations or the company will fix it or I will return it and get something else.

Old 10-28-2012, 03:23 PM   #12

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 2

I do "want it right", Gunnut. But "right" is based on the totality of the circumstances. I wanted a left-handed action, and most manufacturers don't want to hear it. I didn't want to spend too much, because I'm just getting started in rifle shooting and I don't know what I'm doing yet. Remington says "Come on in, join the party. At the bottom of the line." That's the best offer a hard world had for me.

I would have liked that rifle to be closer to perfect, or "right", because knowing those shims are there bugs me, it messes with my sense of order! But in my opinion it's not reasonable to expect much more out of a made-in-the-U.S.A. rifle that cost $700. For me, it is a matter of having realistic expectations.

I have had a hard life. My hopes and dreams and fantasies about a near-perfect world were shattered decades ago. I look in the mirror, and I say "I look like a puddle of dog puke!", and I'm not kidding. But this is as close to "right" as my experience allows for, so I try to live with it gracefully.

I have to live in the world the way it is today, not the way I might like it to be!

Old 10-28-2012, 04:09 PM   #13

Liked 743 Times on 473 Posts
Likes Given: 232

Your gun shoots awesome. Those shims are fine. Leave it alone. Just take it to the range and shoot the socks off everyone else!