M-14/M1a1 scope mounts - Page 6
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > M-14/M1a1 scope mounts

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2013, 07:10 AM   #51
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

I have been researching this issue for a few months now and am still having a hard time trying to figure which mount and rings to get. I am picking up my M1A Standard tommorrow and have already ordered a Vortex PST 4-16x50 for the optics. I have been looking mainly at the Sadlak and Bassett then recently saw the McCann and Smith mounts. Any suggestions what would be a good set up with the Vortex, the optics will be permament for the most part otherwise I would probably only considered the Bassett. Thanks for any help.

Old 04-20-2013, 05:19 PM   #52

Liked 32 Times on 23 Posts
Likes Given: 45

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2002zo6 View Post
I have been researching this issue for a few months now and am still having a hard time trying to figure which mount and rings to get. I am picking up my M1A Standard tommorrow and have already ordered a Vortex PST 4-16x50 for the optics. I have been looking mainly at the Sadlak and Bassett then recently saw the McCann and Smith mounts. Any suggestions what would be a good set up with the Vortex, the optics will be permament for the most part otherwise I would probably only considered the Bassett. Thanks for any help.
The Bassett mount fits receivers that are out of spec without custom fitting. Sadlak and SEI mounts are copies of the old Brookfield mount which is world class, but do require fitting to most commercial receivers. Sadlak had fitting instructions, and they will do the fitting if you need it.

M14s tend to be very rough on scopes with side parallax knobs. The oprod action applies a forward recoil element that beats them to death.

SAF-Life
PEIAPOI

"Obama has ordered the launching of more Tomahawk cruise missiles than All the other Nobel Peace Prize winners combined."