Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   Optics & Mounts (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/)
-   -   Looking for opinions on optics (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f65/looking-opinions-optics-77784/)

truckie98 12-05-2012 04:25 PM

Looking for opinions on optics

I'm new to the AR world I recently bought a S&W in .556 I'm looking for a decent optic that can handle the caliber and also wondering about magnifiers and if they are even worth the time and money. Any thoughts would be great.

locutus 12-05-2012 04:51 PM

A little more info.

What exactly is your definition of optics????

Magnifiers? Virtually all scopes are magnifiers. Are you referring to Red Dots???

truckie98 12-05-2012 08:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by locutus
A little more info.

What exactly is your definition of optics????

Magnifiers? Virtually all scopes are magnifiers. Are you referring to Red Dots???

Sorry I've been looking at so many of these things I'm just out right confused. I'm more of a range plinker I might do a little hunting with it but probably not much if any. I've been leaning towards red dot but also looking at something like an acog style scope also. Is it possible to do both and if so which one should be on a drop mount or should I even mess with the drop mount? Unfortunately I just don't have trijicon money though.

purehavoc 12-05-2012 09:55 PM

what are you looking to spend ? thats the big question . When you say ACOG style please dont buy a cheap chinese styled ACOG , you will get what you pay for . Vortec is high on the list , Lifetime no BS / no frills warranty and fabulous customer service

Shade 12-05-2012 10:52 PM

I would like a primer on tactical optics. Hunting scopes I know, but
Red Dots, Holo's and ACOGs I need to learn more about. Have some
AR's coming that need some optics.

JTJ 12-06-2012 01:09 AM

1 Attachment(s)