Help with a Mil-Dot Scope - Page 2
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Help with a Mil-Dot Scope

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-28-2010, 08:11 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: melbourne
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the input ccd.

It's definitely the variety where reticle remain constant regardless of power, so i think second plane.

I will try again, but from memory i think the 333 multiplier worked on whichever power I used.

Dave

__________________
dave79 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 09:55 AM   #12
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: melbourne
Posts: 10
Default

Hi again,

i've confirmed that 333 works with all power levels.

using 1000 multiplier results in too great distances.

so back to the original question: could Tasco NOT be using genuine mildots?

would this affect holdovers and similar compensating actions?

dave

__________________
dave79 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 11:11 AM   #13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Highpower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Upper Mississippi Valley
Posts: 1,547
Liked 355 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 292

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave79 View Post
I recently bought a Tasco 2-6x32 Mildot scope.

The formula in their instruction sheet has me puzzled. Can anyone comment on why they would suggest to multiply by 333 instead of 1000?

Instruction sheet:
(Height in metre x 333) / mils read = Distance in metre

Everywhere on the web this formula is expressed as:
(Height[in yards] x 1000) / mils read = Distance [in yards]

It's as if this scope has its dots differently spaced and not like true mildot???

Anyone?

Thanks.
The above is just a guess on my part, because I suck at math......

Which is why I resort to using one of these.

http://www.mildot.com
__________________
Highpower is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2010, 11:49 AM   #14
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ccd8541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave79 View Post
Hi again,

i've confirmed that 333 works with all power levels.

using 1000 multiplier results in too great distances.

so back to the original question: could Tasco NOT be using genuine mildots?

would this affect holdovers and similar compensating actions?

dave
How have you confirmed it?

If the reticle is in the second focal plane you can not use the same formula, you are changing the size of the target in relation to the reticle as you adjust the magnification.

The easiest thing to do is to place a target of a known size downrange and measure it at various magnification settings. EX: 18" target at 100yds. This will tell you what the spacing is.
__________________

MIL/LE
U.S. Optics
chad@usoptics.com

ccd8541 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 11:51 AM   #15
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: melbourne
Posts: 10
Default

Hey ccd,

that's exactly how i confirmed, i took a known size object, put known distance away and observed how many mildots at each magnification level, from 2x to 6x.

plugging in 333 gives correct results.

increasing power requires dividing the result by appropriate power number, to account for larger picture on the same-size-reticle.

plugging in 1000 in the equation gives me distances that i know are just too long.

my comcern now is, unless there is a way to explain why 333 works, then would somehting like 'mildot' card work on my reticle?

i'm not sure that math will make sense. eg: if the card says compensate by holding-over one dot, and my dot is actually 3x the real mildot? is that possible?

thanks,
d.

__________________
dave79 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 03:08 PM   #16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ccd8541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave79 View Post
Hey ccd,

that's exactly how i confirmed, i took a known size object, put known distance away and observed how many mildots at each magnification level, from 2x to 6x.
So, what is the subtension between the dots at the various magnifications?
If you find a magnification level where the distance between mil-dots is 3.6" at 100yds then all the normal formulas and drop tables will work at that magnification.
__________________

MIL/LE
U.S. Optics
chad@usoptics.com

ccd8541 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2010, 06:55 AM   #17
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: melbourne
Posts: 10
Default

Firstly, appologies to everyone for hogging the thread with my Tasco scope issue. I think I will just have to consider buying a better scope in the future.

In reply to ccd, I checked again...

I took your suggestion that I should see 3.6" @ 100 yards covered by one mildot. Sadly I didn't have so much space so I figured 1/4 of 3.6" at 25 yards should be the same. Let's call that "target area".

First problem: even at highest magnification (6x) one "mildot" on my reticle covers more than the target area. So this reticle is either faulty, or uses some other standard.

Of course as I reduce power, the reticle remains the same but target zone shrinks. Maybe if I could magnify more, eventually I would match one dot to the desired target area -- now I wonder if this scope has reticle printed for Tasco's 3-9x (more commonly seen online) but lenses only actually magnify 2-6x?

So out of curiosity I checked that 333 multiplier again, with known sizes and distances and found that the multiplier is not constant either, as I changed magnification.

Target size was 6" or 0.15m
Distance from target was 12.5m
Solving for multiplier M

@ 2x (0.15 x M) / 2.75dots = 12.5m
therefore M = 229

@ 3x (0.15 x M) / 3.75dots = 12.5m
therefore M = 312

@ 4x (0.15 x M) / 5dots = 12.5m
therefore M = 417

@ 5x (0.15 x M) / 6.25dots = 12.5m
therefore M = 520

So until I can purchase a new scope, I will set this scope to one power level only and learn how to get by. Bit of a bummer but maybe I will learn something accidentaly :-)

Dave.

__________________
dave79 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
NcSTAR Compact Rifle Scope - 6x32 Scope iskatel Optics & Mounts 18 05-08-2010 04:22 AM
Looking for a Scope CA357 Optics & Mounts 7 11-01-2009 04:54 PM
Need Scope Help CA357 Optics & Mounts 21 03-03-2009 06:39 PM
scope ? sgtdeath66 Auto & Semi-Auto Discussion 3 02-23-2009 07:21 PM
New AR scope dragunovsks AR-15 Discussion 2 02-05-2009 05:43 PM