Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Eyeglasses and riflescopes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2013, 04:19 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Eyeglasses and riflescopes

Once better than 20-20, my tired eyes now need some help. Distant vision is pretty good but images have a fuzzy edges. near vision is a bit more sporty-i cant read without glasses and often have trouble reading on the computer screen. Currently I wear progressive lens.
I have very little experience with riflescopes. Other than safety/eye relief, what other considerations are there for eyeglass wearers? I'm looking to put a 4x or 2-7x possibly a 3-9x on a Ruger American .270 for non-competitive target shooting, 95% of time at 100yds. (Using those magnification powers because I want a hunting rifle even though I won't be hunting -stupid, I know, but that's what I want.

Cheers,

Clay

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 03-17-2013, 04:32 PM   #2
FTF_SUPPORTER.png

Liked 3858 Times on 2304 Posts
Likes Given: 3233

I recommend between 4-12x50. If you are shooting in low light or night time you need at least x56. This allows for more light to enter the scope. A red dot might help in low light conditions too. I have problems with a blurry right eye. I am right handed and do not want to shoot left handed. I found the Meopta Meostar 4-12x56rd for 1000 dollars. I see perfectly after adjusting the relief. Leupold has some good scopes the have the red dot, 3-9x50 for under 500. There are military grade eye protectors for shooters with glasses, but I am not familiar with them.