Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > Expensive optics?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2012, 01:55 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default Expensive optics?

I have a PhD in Physics and have worked on designing optical devices. I have to say I am hard pressed to justify the cost of high end optics. When optics were hand made one at a time they were expensive. Now they are mass produced. Can someone tell me why I am wrong?....doc

Last edited by maddoccanis; 11-24-2012 at 01:59 AM.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 11-24-2012, 02:26 AM   #2

Liked 1961 Times on 1163 Posts
Likes Given: 423

Quality control. Hand assembly in controlled work spaces. There is still a lot of manual labor involved in sporting optics. Then those optics are subjected to weather, temperature extremes, recoil etc. and still expected to hold zero through power adjustments and maintain repeatable adjustments. Cost of facilities and equipment for mass production. Paying technicians that maintain the equipment. Unions, benefits packages, insurance, testing, marketing, lawyers, shipping and receiving, accounting. Designing it is only the beginning.

A lab microscope doesn't get exposed to as many variables and extremes as a rifle scope. It has a controlled light source and background. Telescopes may get exposed to some weather and temp extremes but usually not as extreme and with less rough handling.