Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts > DIY scope mounting

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2013, 08:19 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

JonM, LOL. Except I am already used to getting that look from everybody, hea.

TreeHugger... I hear ya.

Down to it... I'm actually a half way decent mechanic I suppose, and haven't snapped a bolt off, probably in over 25 years. I guess I'm just thinking I could get the scope set up better from someone who does that kind of stuff for a living.

Here's what it probably comes down to; The answer to the following question... When you guys mount a scope, do you generally find yourself going back and adjusting the eye relief a couple of times or more to really get it dialed in? Or is it usually spot on the first time? If the norm is to go back and adjust it a few times, then I might as well mount the thing myself since I will have to loosen it back up anyway, right? Thinking way back to my other rifle, I think it took me a few attempts to get it the way I wanted it.

Thanks for your thoughts guys.

Old 03-02-2013, 08:33 AM   #12

Liked 14 Times on 11 Posts

I work at a lgs and install scopes quite often. The way I get the eye relief corrects install the bottom half of the rings then set on the scope. Then put the top half on and insert the screws but keeping the rings very loose. Adjust the scope to where I think the relief should be then have the customer shoulder it and see if any tweaking is necessary. After that I level the reticle (eyeball) and tighten her down in a crisscross pattern. Sometimes the scope will turn in the rings as you are tightening and throw your reticle off so go very slowly while tightening (one screw 3 turns of the screwdriver then the next).

Old 03-02-2013, 11:51 AM   #13

Liked 42 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimActual View Post
JonM, LOL. Except I am already used to getting that look from everybody, hea.