Deer scope..? - Page 3
You are Unregistered, please register to use all of the features of FirearmsTalk.com!    
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Gear & Accessories > Optics & Mounts >

Deer scope..?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 03:21 PM   #21
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 48 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Quote:
Originally Posted by JonM
Ive sworn off leupolds. Havent had one that has survived more than two years other than my vx3 rimfire efr. Vx7 broken lens delamination havent sent it back for repair yet as they will fix it just too lazy to repair something that will just sit on the shelf. Mk4 3.5-15 lens delamination sold it to a buddy that didnt care he sent it back for repairs. Mk4cqb wont hold zero shelved leupold wont fix repair or replace. Im not wasting more money on leupold optics. Ive switched to trijicon nightforce nikon and vortex depending on need.
I'm new to optics, but that's the first negative stuff I've heard about leupold.
And your negative experience was with multiple scopes which starts to make me question their durability..

durability is my number one quality I'm looking for...I want a gun and a scope I can have down to my children...what would you recommend then?

Old 10-19-2013, 04:21 PM   #22

Liked 41 Times on 32 Posts
Likes Given: 7

I'm a fan of Weaver scopes. Own three Super Slams and a 40/44. A fair number of gents I shoot with at range on a regular basis own a Weaver, but they mostly own Grand Slams or Classic V's.

Some of the Super Slams and all the Grand Slams fit your price range. These models are made for Weaver by Light Optical Works (LOW) in Japan. LOW makes higher end scopes for Sightron, Bushnell and others. Very good quality in LOW made scopes. Both the optics and adjustments in Super Slams and Grand Slams are top notch. I'm not aware of any of my shooting buddies having a problem with their Weavers.