Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > XD Forum > New XD 9 Subcompact

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2010, 12:21 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default New XD 9 Subcompact

Kind of a noob here. Lotsa lurking, very little posting. But I just bought my fiance an XD 9 Subcompact, and I thought I'd take a few minutes to share my impressions, along with a couple of photos from the inaugural range visit. Long story short, I really like this gun. And, more importantly, she likes it VERY much. We originally went out in search of a Glock, either a 19 or a 26. I'm not a big fan of Glocks in general (just personal preference), but she handled one previously and liked the way it felt in her hand. And, given Glock's reputation for reliability, those were on the short list. As it turns out, the shop we ended up in didn't have the G-26 in stock, so we took a look at the XD Sub. She was immediately impressed with the added grip safety since this may end up being a CCW pistol. And I have to say, the trigger on the XD is WAY better than the Glock. So we walked out of the shop with the XD, with 2 mags, and the minimally functional XD gear for just under $500. As cute as this little pistol is, where it really shined (shone?) was at the range. She took to it immediately. Nice sights, very manageable recoil, and zero malfunctions shooting some cheap MFS ammo.

Here are a few pics:

1. Like I said, she took to it immediately
2. Every now and then, you get tired of punching holes, and you just have to shoot at something that goes "clang" when you hit it.
3. This is my 14 year old daughter. Like I said, very manageable recoil.
4. Yours truly. I just had to post this "slide back" pic. I preferred shooting with the extended mag. Without it, my pinkie didn't have a home.

Bottom line: Great gun. Most importantly, she likes it and is comfortable with it. I'm really glad they didn't have the Glock in stock