brand new XD 9mm
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > XD Forum > brand new XD 9mm

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2012, 04:31 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default brand new XD 9mm

I just made my first gun purchase, in the fantastically gun-friendly GA, and went with an XD9mm. It just felt right in my hand compared to the far more expensive Glock and M&P. I'm new to this and am taking a course next weekend, but are there any tips any experienced XD users have? Ive already broken the gun down several times and feel comfortable with it. It is brand new in the box, and I was wondering if I should clean it/lube the barrel before I take it for an inaugural spin. Here's to many years of XD love and good conversations on FTF!

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 09-07-2012, 04:56 AM   #2
I used to play keyboards, but now...
FTF_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Liked 2394 Times on 1452 Posts
Likes Given: 2512

I'm not sure I'm an experienced XD user. I started shooting about a year ago, rented an XD 9mm Subcompact for about 4-5 months. I chose the XDm 9mm Compact for my first gun and have shot that since January this year.

One of the improvements for the XDm series was a change in how the gun is broken down. The XD requires you to pull the trigger (hopefully dry fire ) to complete the disassembly. The XDm does not require a trigger pull. Be careful when cleaning the gun. Too easy to have an accidental discharge (see thread by that name!)