Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Who Makes Good Mags?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2012, 01:22 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default Who Makes Good Mags?

I am new to 1911's. I have a RIA 1911A1, basic GI model, single stack. The 7 round factory mag works fine, but the 8 round aftermarket mag hangs up and FTF. I'm pretty sure it's not the gun since it only happens with the 8 round mag.

I am still in the break in mode....maybe 200 rounds down the pipe.

Who makes a good 1911 mag and does it matter whether you go 7 or 8 shot?

Thanks in advance.

Winch

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 08-05-2012, 01:27 PM   #2

Liked 9199 Times on 5056 Posts
Likes Given: 74

Canebrake is our resident 1911 guru, and he swears by Tripp research (no, I'm not affiliated). I hope he stops in to give you the rundown on them, some really good info.

Old 08-05-2012, 02:31 PM   #3

Liked 2371 Times on 1481 Posts
Likes Given: 51

Quote:
Originally Posted by winch
I am new to 1911's. I have a RIA 1911A1, basic GI model, single stack. The 7 round factory mag works fine, but the 8 round aftermarket mag hangs up and FTF. I'm pretty sure it's not the gun since it only happens with the 8 round mag.

I am still in the break in mode....maybe 200 rounds down the pipe.

Who makes a good 1911 mag and does it matter whether you go 7 or 8 shot?

Thanks in advance.

Winch
I use Wilson combat mags in a 3.5 ria. Never an issue. As mentioned above the guru says the Tripp mags are amazing. I still have yet to order any.

Oh dern....

Revelation 19:11