Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Torn on which to buy, thoughts..... (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/torn-buy-thoughts-76229/)

bananaboat 11-12-2012 04:49 PM

Torn on which to buy, thoughts.....

Ok I've been saving for a 1911 now for a little bit and am torn between which to get. I know I want a commander size and really love a bobtailed MSH as well. I've been looking at the Dan Wesson V-bob, the price isn't too bad but still a little high for my wallet, it would just take longer to save up.

Are there any other good production 1911's commander sized w a bobtail? Or would I be better off getting a commander w a stock MSH and having a smith do the work.

Just looking for some opinions. I want a quality firearm (I know you need to spend money to get quality) w bobtail. Let me know what you guys think.

Thanks a

Olympus 11-12-2012 07:18 PM

Smith and Wesson and Sig Saur both offer bobbed models. The Sig version is called a Nightmare. Forgot that Kimber also has a bobbed model. All three will be less expensive than the DW, but not as high quality either.

bananaboat 11-12-2012 07:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Olympus
Smith and Wesson and Sig Saur both offer bobbed models. The Sig version is called a Nightmare. Forgot that Kimber also has a bobbed model. All three will be less expensive than the DW, but not as high quality either.

Thanks for the response, do you know the model that the Kimber is?

Olympus 11-13-2012 02:24 PM

I believe they call them the Super Carry models. You can find them on their website.

danf_fl 11-13-2012 03:05 PM

With a little work and different grips, you could get this for almost any 1911 platform:
http://www.brownells.com/handgun-parts/frame-parts/mainspring-parts/mainspring-housings/1911-auto-bobtail-mainspring-housing-prod1346.aspx

bananaboat 11-13-2012 05:19 PM

Quote: