Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Springfied Trp w/o rail

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2012, 02:30 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AfghanVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default Springfied Trp w/o rail

Ok I just bought a TRP, I love it but I'm not in love with the two piece guide rod, would anyone suggest a GI standard guide rod and if so would it run without any hiccups ?



__________________
AfghanVet is offline  
 
Reply With Quote

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here


Old 09-25-2012, 05:11 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bartwatkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Birmingham,AL
Posts: 454
Liked 60 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 57

Default

It's just kinda whatever you prefer on this issue - lots of opinions on both sides.
I have an SA Loaded (not quite the TRP with features and attention to detail) and it also came with the FLGR (2 piece).
Once I put around 2-3k rounds down the pipe and needed a new recoil spring, I went ahead and changed out mine with a short GI style guide rod too (Ed Brown part).

It performs as flawlessly as the FLGR did - so, it will give you no reliability problems whatsoever (all in personal preference).

And by the way, Thank You for your service!!!!



__________________
bartwatkins is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:27 PM   #3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AfghanVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks, I'm going to run the FLGR for a while and then I'll switch them out

__________________
AfghanVet is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2012, 06:34 PM   #4
FTF_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Overkill0084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Weber County, Utah
Posts: 4,200
Liked 2706 Times on 1346 Posts
Likes Given: 263

Default

Six of one, half dozen the other. Either will work, it's up to you.
I have the same setup on my Trophy Match. For me, changing it is a solution to a non-existent problem. YMMV.

__________________
Cheers,
Greg
USAF Retired
NRA Life Member

"If you put the federal government in charge of the Sahara Desert, in 5 years there'd be a shortage of sand."
Milton Friedman
Overkill0084 is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 07:42 PM   #5
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AfghanVet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 16
Liked 3 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Great, thanks gentleman I appreciate the feed back



__________________
AfghanVet is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Firearms Forum Replies Last Post
Gap between my red dot and rail Buckethead47 Optics & Mounts 9 05-06-2012 12:58 PM
Rail DEVGRU1982 AR-15 Discussion 7 12-01-2011 12:02 AM
10/22 rail? fupuk .22 Rifle/Rimfire Discussion 9 11-24-2011 05:30 PM
Is it possible to add a tactical rail to a Sig Sauer P220 without a built in rail? FlintandSteel Semi-Auto Handguns 8 01-04-2011 02:26 PM
tactical rail ItsmeShane 1911 Forum 8 01-03-2010 03:56 PM



Newest Threads