Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Should i upgrade the internal parts? (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/should-i-upgrade-internal-parts-78740/)

okdonk 12-18-2012 07:59 AM

Should i upgrade the internal parts?

I'm new to 1911. I'll be picking up my Colt Defender 9mm this thursday at my LGS. It's on transit as we speak. This will be my first Colt 1911. Not sure if Defender falls into 1911 or not :).
My question, what internal or external parts should i upgrade? I was reading on some forums, people like Wilson Combat internal parts. Are they worthy? Are the parts will make it better? If i were going to buy additional mags, should i get Colt mags or Wilson's mags? The gun will not be my EDC for sure.
So please feed me with your wealthy 1911 knowledges. Thank you.

Chainfire 12-18-2012 09:28 AM

I would shoot it. If it works as designed I would leave it alone. I bought my SA 1911 in 1994 and I have shot the dickens out of it. It still has all of the original parts, including magazines, and it works perfectly.

danf_fl 12-18-2012 09:34 AM

I agree with Chainfire.
If you shoot the thing "Like you're tryin' to break it", You will identify what parts need to be replaced.
Then should it need something during the break in period, the company cannot blame you for messin' with it.

qwiksdraw 12-18-2012 11:47 AM

That awkward moment when you realize the previous two replies said exactly what you would have said....!

HOSSFLY 12-18-2012 11:49 AM

Wud you buy a new car & put a new engine & transmission in it?
Shoot the thing ;)

jakewpns 12-18-2012 03:04 PM