Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com

Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/)
-   1911 Forum (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/)
-   -   Ruger sr1911 (http://www.firearmstalk.com/forums/f57/ruger-sr1911-82220/)

broke-again124 01-23-2013 02:11 PM

Ruger sr1911

Are these guns on par with other manufacturers such as colt SA etc. I really like the way it feels but, I have no experience with them at all. Good buy at $800 out the door?

ScottA 01-23-2013 02:14 PM

Picked up one after Christmas. It is now my favorite range gun.

The reviews I've seen are overwhelmingly positive. Besides, it's a Ruger. There are a few manufacturers out there that you can't go wrong buying their stuff.

nitestalker 01-23-2013 02:22 PM

They are a nice looking gun. I have a number of 1911 .45 ACP caliber pistols. Ruger will add calibers in time. I would like one in .357 Sig.:)

StainlessSteel215 01-23-2013 02:22 PM

I've seen them cheaper, around the $700-750 mark. My (non professional) take on this 1911 from observation at my LGS:

-The finish is perfect, a semi matte medium brightness stainless steel
-The contours are very nice and simplistic, not many extra curves that stray from the original 191 design.
-The weight and balance is very nice, nice snug beaver tail grip
-I like how the edges are smoothed out, no sharp edges
-Has the classic muzzle bushing in high polish
-I personally love the Ruger checkered grips
-3 dot Novaks standard
-From what Ive read, accuracy and reliability and top notch
-SIMPLE, but very classy looking gun for for under $1000 you get a freaking top quality Ruger!

broke-again124 01-23-2013 02:26 PM

Okay, might pull the trigger on one later this week.

Olympus 01-23-2013 02:55 PM