Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Remington r1 vs ???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2013, 02:15 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Remington r1 vs ???

OK guys I'm new at this whole thing but I want to learn everything I can. Here is my question.. What is the difference between standard 1911's (r1) and the high end 11's (wilson combat, kimber, etc...)? I have a history in paintball, and I am a car builder and painter, so I understand smaller, faster, lighter, and pretty paint but is there any actual performance or quality benafits?

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 01-16-2013, 02:29 PM   #2
FTF_MODERATOR.png

Liked 5324 Times on 2779 Posts
Likes Given: 338

Depends on your philosophy of use.

To me the high end 1911's are nice and all but they deviate from the military spec and dont lend well to defensive role. They tend to have all the slop and play removed from frame to slide to barrel linkages. This means just a little bit of harsh abuse or dirt can lock em up solid when you need them the most.

Under range conditions its a nonissue. Under conditions where dirt or lack of lubricant is involved (the goblin isnt going to give you time to oil your gun) tight tolerances us a very bad thing.

If your doing bullseye and such you want solid lockup to drive rounds on top of each other. In self defense you dont need laser accuracy so you want a little slop to ensure reliability. 1-2 inch groups from a lower end gun is more than adequate for self defense.