new springfield 1911 loaded, 100 rounds to FTF, why? (and more)
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > new springfield 1911 loaded, 100 rounds to FTF, why? (and more)

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2011, 11:07 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Default new springfield 1911 loaded, 100 rounds to FTF, why? (and more)

Hey Folks,

back again. after over a week of waiting i got my gun yesterday. had the girl over so i couldn't 'play' with it. after she left, about 130am i inspected it and said, screw it, i'm off saturday i'll start the process of field stripping it and cleaning, oiling, lubing and reassemble for the range saturday.

well at 530 am i finally finished. i'm no mechanic, i do IT work and the only maintenance i'd do is on PC's at work or for me. so taking this gun a part was something REALLY new to me. 4 hours on a 30 minute youtube video. i know i know, rookie.

btw, i was super careful, really! i got a slight 'idiot mark'/'stop slide mark' etc. at the right angle with light you can see it. but it's not too obvious. it's about half the size of a typical mark it was really difficult for me to put it in there. i dont know if it's because it's new but the plunger was difficult to push in until i finally did.

So range report and back to the thread topic. on top of the 10 ftf's i had about 5 FTL(?) Fail to load in chamber.

i shot 100 rounds of Sellier and Bellot 9mm. ( i know i know this gun is built for the .45acp, but high end makers still make this pistol in this format and they work, but that's a WHOLE other story).

i have my stock springfield loaded mags (i ordered my tripp's last week saturday and got mail on monday that they shipped? nothing yet) so i have a feeling my failed load to chambers were due to the mags.