Need Sight Comparison & Advice
Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Need Sight Comparison & Advice

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 03:06 AM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 43

Default Need Sight Comparison & Advice

I have been looking online and I can't seem to find anywhere that gives a side-by-side comparison of available sights for a 1911. I'm about to buy my first 1911 and I've heard some sights are attached in a permanent manner, which doesn't sound very upgrade or option friendly. There's Novak, Heinie, Low Pro, night sights (tru-glo, etc)... I wish I could see these compared online somewhere. I'm an OTR truck driver and I plan on purchasing my 1911 and having it waiting for me at home... I don't really have much of a chance to go somewhere to see them first hand. I'm debating between a few Taurus and RIA 1911s and one of them even says it comes with Heinie sights on the main description but says it has Novaks in the "Features" tab Need help on this please. Thanks!

"Only an armed people can be truly free. Only an unarmed people can ever be enslaved." - Aristotle

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today - It's Free!

Are you a firearms enthusiast? Then we hope you will join the community. You will gain access to post, create threads, private message, upload images, join groups and more.

Firearms Talk is owned and operated by fellow firearms enthusiasts. We strive to offer a non-commercial community to learn and share information.

Join FirearmsTalk.com Today! - Click Here

Old 07-30-2012, 01:51 PM   #2

Liked 22 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 16

The Heinie straight eight sights on the PT1911 were discontinued in 2008 the sight that come on the PT1911 now are the Novak three dot sight, you can get the Heinie's night sight direct form Heinie for like $150, just look them up and you will be able to see their profile.