Firearm & Gun Forum - FireArmsTalk.com > Handguns > Semi-Auto Handguns > 1911 Forum > Need help finding the right 1911

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-26-2011, 04:32 PM   #11
FTF_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Liked 5121 Times on 2667 Posts
Likes Given: 310

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jesse17 View Post
OK guys, I'm starting to shop for my first 1911. Yes, I'm dead set on a 1911, please I don't want to here about Glocks, or XDs, etc. It will be my primary CCW but weight/size isn't the biggest issue because I'll be installing a lock box in my vehicles, and switching out to a LCP at work which is the only time I'm worried about my ability to conceal a larger pistol.

I've been making a list of the features I'm looking for, and have some questions about them also. No 'Desired Features' are set in stone, so please feel free to change my mind on any of them, and please point out other features/aspects that I should be looking at. I'm totally new to the 1911 world, so any comments about them are welcomed.

My Desired Features...
  1. .45 acp
  2. Stainless Frame and Slide (might consider an aluminum frame if it dropped the price enough)
  3. Full length guide rod
  4. w/bushing (I like the looks better, but would go bushing-less if someone told me what the advantage is.)
  5. ambidextrous safety (not sure if I really need this...IF I have to shoot it off hand, I've got bigger problems than learning to manipulate the safety with my index finger, not to mention I'll probably have to draw it with my right hand regardless, but they do look better with the ambidextrous )
  6. front and rear slide serrations (or just rear if I have to settle )
  7. Not sure what you call it, but I want the entire mag. to fit in the mag well, not protrude out of the grip.
  8. adjustable trigger
I also like the idea of the rounded edges that Kimber has on one line of their 1911s (can't remember which line right now)